Timberrrrrrrrrr!!!

If a tree falls in the forest and no one is there to see it, does it make a sound?

I have no idea, but if a fat man falls while running, even though no one was around he makes enough noise for 2 or 3 people.

Yes, I fell and at the end of one of my better training runs too.  7km run at 30 seconds a km faster than normal and a last sub 6 minute kilometre to finish with.  Yeah I was really moving when, out of nowhere, something grabbed my foot and wrestled me to the ground.  I actually have no memory of whether I tripped on the pavement or what but suddenly my top half of my body was moving much much faster than my bottom half.  It all happened in slow motion, for me anyway, and it seemed like 5 or 6 seconds of arm flailing like windmills while my body decided which part would hit the ground first and whether a ninja style roll would work in this situation.

2016-07-11 06.13.21

230 lbs moving fast (ish) has great momentum and is not going to stop fast and yes I know I have padding but like a giant redwood tree it is not in control when falling.

My last step before finally succumbing to gravity did put the brakes on enough that my fall was actually quite slow but my left knee was the first point of contact followed by both hands and then and only then did the ninja training kick in and I ended up on my back.

Winded, I first checked my watch for damage and stopped my run.  That done I lay there and performed a quick body check.  I wear gloves all the time I run whether in winter or summer and that saved my hands and after a wipe off my knee is only scrapped.

I look back at this morning and I think it could have been worse, I mean someone could have seen me.  🙂

Leave a Reply

